Tuesday , 17 May 2022

Three Scots nominated for Stonewall Awards 2014

Stonewall Awards 2014
Stonewall Awards 2014

Glasgow’s Commonwealth’s Pride House, Alex Neil, the Scottish Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing and Liz MacKean TV reporter and presenter have been nominated for the 2014 Stonewall Awards.

Glasgow’s Pride House, which was run by LEAP Sports Scotland (LSS) and became a focal point for LGBTI related events during the Commonwealth Games as well as for Scotland’s LGBTI community, has been nominated for Sports of the Year category alongside Arsenal and England player Casey Stoney, Thomas Hitzlsperger, Michael Sam and Stonewall FC.

Alex Neil, the Scottish Cabinet Secretary for Health and Wellbeing, who deftly led the Marriage and Civil Partnership (Scotland) Bill through Holyrood, has been nominated as Politician of the Year, alongside Lynne Featherstone MP, Lord Cashman, Lord Fowler and Kerry McCarthy MP.

While Scottish born and educated Liz MacKean has been nominated for Journalist of the Year for her C4 Dispatches – Haunted documentary on life of Russia’s LGBTI community, along side Ade Adepitan, Jane Hill, Partick McAleenan and Paul Thorn.

Many campaigners and members of the Scottish LGBTI community were delighted that more Scots have been nominated this year for the 2014 Stonewall Awards.

Commenting on the news, Hugh Torrance of LSS told KaleidoScot: “LEAP Sports Scotland is honoured and excited to be shortlisted for a Stonewall UK award.

“We hope the success of Pride House Glasgow and our work with Glasgow 2014 is noticed by the IOC in their future deliberations.

“Our nomination is testament to the vision of the LEAP Sports Scotland Board, to the stewardship of the Pride House International movement, to the faith of our funders and supporters, and to the hard work and dedication of our volunteers.”

Torrance added: “It’s encouraging to see other Scottish contributions also making the shortlist.”

One campaigner called for more representation of those individuals and groups positively impacting the lives of the LGBTI community in Scotland.

Speaking with KaleidoScot, Richard McArthur, who says he wants a Scottish Awards for LGBTI people, told KaleidoScot: “I congratulate Alex Neil, the whole LEAP Sports team and Liz MacKean on their Stonewall nomination, it is richly deserved after the success of the Equal Marriage legislation passing in Parliament, Pride House in Glasgow was a fantastic event and the outstanding documentary by MacKean.”

“These nominees demonstrate that lots of amazing work is happening in Scotland and perhaps we need more representation to recognise the positive contribution that hundreds of individuals and groups are having on our lives here.”

“Using examples of smaller countries, like Ireland who organise their GALA Awards every year, I know we could formally say thanks for the dedication and hard work of so many in Scotland if we had our own annual Awards.”

The Stonewall Awards will take place this year at the Raphael Gallery of the Victoria & Albert Museum, London. Ticket cost £198 and can be purchased here.

About Dan Littauer

Dan Littauer is a journalist who specializes in LGBTI current affairs, travel writing, feature writing and investigative journalism. He is a correspondent for LGBTQ Nation, ManAboutWorld, and previously worked for Gay Star News, PinkNews, San Diego Gay and Lesbian News, Gay Middle East, Lonely Planet as well as contributing occasionally to the BBC, Al-Jazeera, CNN and The Guardian. He also had an extensive career outside journalism, which included teaching psychoanalysis and social science, and consultancy work for the travel market. When he is not busy writing, he can be spotted rambling around the stunning Scottish landscape, where he lives, spending time at home with his cat.

Check Also

Femme Brutal 1-2

SQIFF 2016 – Full Festival Programme Announced!

Scottish Queer International Film Festival 2016 Full programme announced for SQIFF 29th September – 2nd ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>